MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR NASHVILLE COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 99, WASHINGTON, JEFFERSON AND PERRY COUNTIES, HELD AT THE SCHOOL BUILDING IN THE CITY OF NASHVILLE, ILLINOIS ON MAY 19, 2020, AT 6:30 P.M.

The Board of Education for Nashville Community High School District No. 99 met in regular session on Tuesday evening, May 19, 2020, at the High School Building in the City of Nashville, Illinois pursuant to the rules of the Board of Education.

Upon roll call the following answered present:

Paul Barczewski Present Sharon Ogrzewalla Present

Kim Morris Present (via phone conference)

Kevin Rench Present
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Present
Thomas Speedie Present

Also present were Superintendent Brad Turner and Principal Mark Begando. In addition, teacher Matt Meinert as well as the media were present.

It was moved by Paul Barczewski and seconded Tom Speedie to approve the consent agenda, minutes, payment of bills, and financial reports, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
Kevin Rench Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Kevin Rench to accept the Treasurer's report, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
Kevin Rench Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

Principal Mark Begando gave a report on graduation and closing procedures along with a thank you to all faculty and staff who helped with graduation and food distribution process.

It was moved by Sharon Ogrzewalla and seconded by Paul Barczewski to approve the second reading and adoption of Policy Updates – PRESS Issue 103.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows: Paul Barczewski Yea Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea Kim Morris Yea Kevin Rench Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea Thomas Speedie Yea The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Paul Barczewski to approve the fee schedule for the 2020-21 school year, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows: Paul Barczewski Yea Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea Kim Morris Yea Kevin Rench Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea Thomas Speedie Yea The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Shawn Cook to approve the 2020-

21 Lease Levy, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows: Paul Barczewski Yea Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea Kim Morris Yea Kevin Rench Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea Thomas Speedie Yea The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Kim Morris and seconded by Paul Barczewski to approve the NCHS Handbook for 2020-21.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows: Paul Barczewski Yea Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea Kim Morris Yea Kevin Rench Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea Thomas Speedie Yea The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Paul Barczewski to approve the ESEA of 1965 Amended Consolidated District Plan for 2020-21 school year.

The board members voted as follows:

Voting
$$\underline{6}$$
 Yea $\underline{0}$ Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Shawn Cook and seconded by Paul Barczewski to approve the status of closed session minutes and to destroy closed session audio recordings exceeding 18 months.

The board members voted as follows:

The President declared the motion carried.

Superintendent Brad Turner reported the Amended Budget Hearing will be held on June 23, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. Community Trust Bank applied for a grant for school districts and food banks. Nashville Community High School received \$6,000 in donation from Community Trust Bank.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Paul Barczewski to go into closed session at 6:54 p.m. for the purpose of discussing to review closed session minutes, and to discuss the employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of employees.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
Kevin Rench Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Paul Barczewski and seconded by Tom Speedie to go out of closed session at 7:58 p.m.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
Kevin Rench Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Paul Barczewski to employ Lucas Welte as summer helper with hours not to exceed 150.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows: Paul Barczewski Yea Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea Kim Morris Yea Kevin Rench Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea

Thomas Speedie The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Kevin Rench to employ Sophie Heck as summer maintenance helper with hours not to exceed 150.

Yea

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea Kim Morris Yea Kevin Rench Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea Thomas Speedie Yea The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Paul Barczewski to employ Isaac Turner as summer maintenance helper with hours not to exceed 100.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea Yea Sharon Ogrzewalla Kim Morris Yea Kevin Rench Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea Thomas Speedie Yea The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Shawn Cook to accept the resignation of Patty Heiman as AE Teacher/CTE Tutor, effective immediately.

The board members voted as follows:

Voting
$$\underline{6}$$
 Yea $\underline{0}$ Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Paul Barczewski and seconded by Kevin Rench to approve an increase in the extra driving stipend to \$25.00 per hour.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows: Paul Barczewski Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea Kim Morris Yea Kevin Rench Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea Thomas Speedie Yea The President declared the motion carried. It was moved by Sharon Ogrzewalla and seconded by Shawn Cook to adjourn the meeting. The board members voted as follows: Voting <u>6</u> Yea <u>0</u> Nay The President declared the motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

SECRETARY

PRESIDENT